puellarina's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

african boogie bird

2004-03-28 - 2:11 p.m.

african boogie bird

I heard a little bird

in the brush

I looked

and I saw

he was as little

and as foreign

as he sounded.

But on his back

was a tall,

painted wood

elaboration.

He was decorated

in african designs

made from neckties.

He began to dance.

I came very close.

I gazed at his

black, painted eye.

But he turned and moved away.

Stretching shyly

his long crane's neck

down and back behind.

Leaving a white breast feather

at his scaly yellow heel.

I retrieved this tender leaving

with a child's bottomless wonder

I held it's cottony

air-woven

fibers between reverent fingers.

I followed

the african crane

as I was sure

he had asked me to do.

11:06 a.m. - 2004-05-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

k9shrink
barabbas
diaryquotes
Fragiletree
hopscotch
ophelia
paperbridges
reddirtgirl
squirrelx
tigerbody
lovejunky
orangepeeler
likeaforest
meism
mcearstix
dead-slug
fuschia
seethingblue
loathe